Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Annual Meeting

August 2, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Please save the date for our next Annual Meeting and board installation. Join us in honoring this year’s Kol Hakavod Award recipients as well as the Beth El staff milestones. 


At this annual meeting, we will ask the congregation to approve a revised set of by-laws.  These changes have been approved by the board.  The main changes are:

    • Membership going forward is defined by a “membership policy,” which must be approved by the congregation. That policy will also be submitted for approval at the annual meeting.
    • The part of the by-laws on dues is modified to accommodate our current revenue model, which includes asking for voluntary contributions rather than imposing a fee.
    • The elected members of the board of directors are divided into three groups, so that eight will come up for election each year (as opposed to a number that varies unpredictably from year to year).
    • A non-voting USY seat is added to the board.
    • The nominating process for officers and directors is enhanced to encourage more congregational participation and transparency


If you would like to know more, you can find the current by-laws with proposed changes and explanations HERE. A clean version of the updated by-laws can be found HERE. Finally, the proposed Membership Policy can be found HERE.


If you have any questions before the meeting, please feel free to contact Steve Sanderson at pillcamdoc@yahoo.com or John Orenstein at jorenstein@rossbizlaw.com.


Special thanks to Adam Klarfeld and Tom Sanders for serving on the by-laws committee and to Gary Weinstein for his meaningful recommendations.




Steve Sanderson 

Immediate Past President
Dan Mosow

President Elect
Alan Yousha

Adam Klarfeld

Marc Meirovitz

Vice Presidents
Yoni Bundt
Sally Forbes Friedman
John Simon           


Note: at the annual meeting, we will ask the congregation to approve an amended set of by-laws. These will divide the elected director positions into three classes of eight members each: Aleph, Bet, and Gimel. At future meetings, one class will come up for election at a time, so that eight, and only eight, positions will always come up for election. This is known as an evenly “staggered” board and is common practice.

In order to make this work, the next term of “Aleph” directors will be one year, “Bet” directors two years, and “Gimel” directors three years. After that, all elected director positions will be for three-year terms, as before.

Board Members up for a Election for a First Term
Omer Abramovich (Gimel)
Yoni Bundt (Gimel)
Jodi Lipschultz (Gimel)
David Lui (Gimel)
Jeff Prottas (Gimel)
Allen Bernard (Bet)
Amanda Simpson (Bet)

Board Members up for Election for a Second Term
Adam Klarfeld (Gimel)
Marc Meirovitz (Gimel)
Seth Meisler (Gimel)

Previously Elected Board Members Continuing in Office
Melissa Ginzburg (Bet)
Michael Harad (Bet)
David Jurisz (Bet)
Jill Lewis (Bet)
Sheri Rosen (Bet)
Alan Yousha (Bet)
Mike Blehert (Aleph)
Sally Forbes Friedman (Aleph)
Oren Gross (Aleph)
Laura Kaplan (Aleph)
Steve Sanderson (Aleph)
Amy Shapiro (Aleph)
John Simon (Aleph)
Sharon Tapper (Aleph)

Thank you to our Outgoing Board Members
Barbara Levin Krupp
Allen Oleisky
Laura Silberfarb
Stanley Smith
Sonia Ungerman
Estee Warsett

Nominating Committee Presidents
Bonnie Bongard Goldish, Chair
Aklilu Dunlap
Jenny Hage
Dan Mosow
Steve Sanderson

In addition to the Previously Elected Board Members that are continuing to serve, and those elected by the Congregation at this Annual Meeting, the Board will also include Presidential Appointees (Jenny Hage and Leslie Hahn), and representatives from various active constituencies within Beth El. Those groups include: Aleph Preschool, Beth El Foundation, The Well (Paul Tuchman), USY (non-voting), Women’s League, and the Youth Commission.


August 2, 2018
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:


Beth El Synagogue
5225 Barry Street West
Saint Louis Park, MN 55416 United States


Beth El Synagogue (Organizer)